Donate Tickets

Court Theatre Honored With Three Jeff Awards at 50th Ceremony

Court Theatre is excited to announce that we were honored with three awards from Monday night’s 50th Annual Joseph Jefferson Awards. Two actors from productions during our 2017/18 Season were honored, with Court also receiving a special Jeff Award for our commitment to the Chicago theater community for over 50 years!

Jeff Awards Committee Chairman David Liesse presented the special award along with a brief history of Court Theatre–from our origins as an outdoor summer theatre, to Nicholas Rudall’s role in conceiving Court’s tradition of translating and adapting classic texts for contemporary audiences, to Charles Newell’s transition into Artistic Director and the innovative work he has led since. Newell accepted the award on Court’s behalf. The Goodman Theatre, Drury Lane Productions, and The Second City were also recognized for over half a century of productions.

Kate Fry won Solo Performance for her role as Emily Dickinson in The Belle of Amherst. She thanked Court, Emily Dickinson, and the “dreamy” Timothy Edward Kane.

Lorenzo Rush Jr. won Performer in a Revue for his role as Big Moe in Five Guys Named Moe. He performed with fellow Five Guys Named Moe cast members James Earl Jones II, Eric A. Lewis, Stephen Allen, and Kelvin Roston Jr. to great applause earlier in the evening.

We’re also proud to share that the following artists who have spent time as a member of Court’s family won awards for their work across the city: Andre Pleuss, Nick Bowling, and Todd Rosenthal.

We are privileged to be part of the incredible theatre community in Chicago, and thank the audiences and artists in our incredible city for making this such a rewarding place to make theatre. See all of the nominations and recipients here.

Subscribe to the 2018/19 Season so you won’t miss a moment! Up next at Court: Manual Cinema’s Frankenstein

Posted on October 25, 2018 in Theatre News

You have seat(s) on hold for:


Forgot your password?